Your Cart UMS

At Ford Honors Program in 2013

Photo: Mark Gjukich Photography.

In this photo, our 2013 DTE Educator and School of the Year Matt Kazmierski of Ypsilanti Public Schools and Laura Machida (music) and Meredith Giltner (art) of Carpenter Elementary School receive their awards. Each year, UMS asks the southeastern Michigan community to help us choose the awardees. We want to recognize educators and learning communities doing great work integrating the arts throughout the K-12 curriculum. The award is presented at our annual Ford Honors Gala, which benefits our education and community engagement programs.

This season’s gala takes place on Sunday, March 30 and will also honor Wynton Marsalis and Jazz at Lincoln Center Orchestra with the UMS Distinguished Artist Award.