Your Cart UMS

UMS Digital Presentations

Streaming Through Dec 31

Takacs Quartet

Enjoy a special holiday reprise of the Takács Quartet’s recent UMS Digital Presentation, featuring works by Florence Price, Mozart, Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, Bartók, and Debussy.


Mozart String Quartet in d minor, K. 421/417b (Mvt. i)
Coleridge-Taylor Five Fantasiestücke, Op. 5 (Mvts. i, iii)
Price String Quartet No. 2 in a minor (Mvt. ii)
Bartók Quartet No. 1 (Mvt. iii)
Debussy String Quartet in g minor (Mvts. iii, iv)

Make a Gift

Please consider a donation to keep digital presentations like this accessible to all. Most people are giving $25.

Behind the Music

Kira Thurman, U-M Professor of History and Germanic Languages and Literature and author of the forthcoming book Singing Like Germans: Black Musicians in the Land of Bach, Beethoven and Brahms, is a classically-trained pianist who grew up in Vienna. She gives an overview of all of the works featured on the Takács Quartet Concert program, highlighting composers Florence Price and Samuel Coleridge-Taylor, and talks with Takács Quartet violinist Harumi Rhodes about some of the challenges of obtaining scores and critical editions of works by Black composers.

Patron Sponsor

Edward and Natalie Surovell

Love great music, theater, and dance?

Love great music, theater, and dance?

Surely your inbox has room for one more email... Sign up for notifications on new digital and live performances, plus season updates.

Thanks! We'll keep you updated.