fbpx
Your Cart UMS

Community Programs

UMS offers the community exceptional learning experiences, workshops, Q&A events, and more. Come back in Fall 2019 for an updated listing, and check back often for updates.

You Can Dance

Join dancers from our visiting companies for an exploration of the company’s movement style. No dance training or experience necessary, and all levels, ages 13 and up, are welcome. Free, but first come, first served until studio reaches capacity.

You Can Dance (Brazilian Movement)

FREE EVENTS

You Can Dance
(Brazilian Movement)

Saturday, October 5
You Can Dance feat. Sankai Juku

FREE EVENTS

You Can Dance
feat. Sankai Juku

Saturday, October 26
Photo credit: Jesse Meria
 

Post-Show Q&As with Artists

After most opening night dance and theater performances, join us for a post-performance Q&A to get a glimpse into the lives and minds of the artists who bring creativity to the stage. You must have ticket to that evening’s performance to attend.

Please see individual performance pages for specific post-show Q&A dates and times.

Grupo Corpo

EVENTS

Grupo Corpo
Bach & Gira

Saturday, October 5 - Sunday, October 6
Isango Ensemble: The Magic Flute

EVENTS

Isango Ensemble
The Magic Flute

Wednesday, October 16 - Saturday, October 19
Isango Ensemble: A Man of Good Hope

EVENTS

Isango Ensemble
A Man of Good Hope

Friday, October 18 - Sunday, October 20
Zauberland (Magic Land)
Teaċ Daṁsa

EVENTS

Teac Damsa
Loch na hEala (Swan Lake)

Friday, November 15 - Saturday, November 16
Stew & The Negro Problem

EVENTS

Stew & The Negro Problem
Notes of a Native Song

Friday, November 22 - Saturday, November 23
The Believers Are But Brothers

EVENTS

The Believers Are But Brothers

Wednesday, January 22 - Saturday, January 25
Is This A Room: Reality Winner Verbatim Transcription
White Feminist

EVENTS

White Feminist

Monday, February 3 - Sunday, February 9
Dorrance Dance

EVENTS

Dorrance Dance: Myelination

Friday, February 21 - Saturday, February 22
ANTHEM

EVENTS

ANTHEM
A Dance for Four Women by Milka Djordjevich

Wednesday, March 18 - Saturday, March 21
HOME

EVENTS

HOME

Friday, April 3 - Saturday, April 4
Photo credit: Jesse Meria
 

Pre-performance talks

Join UMS for a brief pre-performance talk before select performances. Just 15 minutes long, each talk offers interesting information and provocative questions for thinking about and watching the performance. Most of these talks are a part of our Renegade series which celebrates artistic innovation, experimentation, and discovery.

Please see individual performance pages for specific pre-performance talk dates and times.

Pre-performance talks

American Ballet Theatre

EVENTS

American Ballet Theatre
Swan Lake

Thursday, April 16 - Sunday, April 19

UMS 101

Curious about UMS, but haven’t taken the plunge? Want to learn more about an unfamiliar artist or genre? UMS and Ann Arbor Public Schools Community Education & Recreation (“Rec & Ed”) are teaming up to offer pre-performance classes created especially for first-time UMS attendees, for curious audience members, and for anyone who simply enjoys attending performances with a group. Each UMS 101 class will be facilitated by a dance, jazz, or classical music expert and feature conversation, interactive exercises, and mini lectures that will help you better understand the genre and have a more enjoyable UMS performance experience. The classes will bring you together with other audience members who are curious about the performing arts and want to learn more.

Registration for UMS 101 includes a ticket to the performance, workshop fees, transportation to/from the performance venue, and light snacks before the performance.

To participate in UMS 101, you must register through the Rec & Ed website and pay the registration fee (which includes a ticket to the performance).

Instructors will be announced when registration opens. Class sessions will take place at Pioneer High School, and group transportation will be provided to and from the performance venue via charter bus. (Sorry, no ticket exchanges or refunds for previously purchased tickets.)

Please see individual event pages for specific registration information.

No Safety Net Events

Events coming soon.

Love great music, theater, and dance?

Love great music, theater, and dance?

Sign up to receive email updates about what's happening at UMS!

Thanks! We'll keep you updated.