Chamber Arts Series

New Century Chamber Orchestra

Saturday, February 2, 2013, 8:00 pm
Rackham Auditorium

What will you hear? A collection of work from Mendelssohn, Bolcom, Villa Lobos, and R. Strauss.

This San Francisco-based group made its UMS debut in February 2011 to huge audience acclaim with a performance of remarkable precision, passion, and power. Their return appearance with artistic director Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg offers the area premiere of a new work that NCCO commissioned by U-M Professor Emeritus of Composition William Bolcom, as well as Heitor Villa-Lobos’ hauntingly beautifulBachianas Brasileiras No. 5. “Salerno-Sonnenberg was and most definitely is a force to be reckoned with [and] the superb musicianship of her cohorts ensured that it was far more than her show.” (San Francisco Classical Voice)


Mendelssohn Symphony No. 10 in b minor (1823)
Bolcom Romanza for Violin and String Orchestra (2010)
Villa Lobos Bachianas Brasileiras No. 5 (1938-45)
R. Strauss Metamorphosen (1944-45)

Program Book [PDF]

Also see

Founded in 1992, the New Century Chamber Orchestra is constantly seeking new and fresh ways for audiences to experience classical music. Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg is a well-known violinist who is now artistic director of this group since 2008. She had a prodigious childhood, emigrating from Rome at the age of 8 to study at The Curtis Institute of Music. Her professional career began in 1981 when she won the Naumberg International Violin Competition.

This performance marks Nadja Salerno-Sonnenberg’s sixth appearance under UMS auspices. Ms. Salerno-Sonnenberg made her UMS debut in an April 1988 May Festival appearance with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra and Zdenek Macal. UMS welcomes back the New Century Chamber Orchestra, which made its UMS debut during the 2010-2011 season.